Tuna is classified as being a fish although it does technically have meat along with skin and scales like any other fish. There are certain people who consider themselves to be vegetarians and therefore do not eat tuna or any other kind of fish. Vegans especially stay away from all animal foods or animal by-products such as milk or butter.
Canned tuna is often referred to as â€œwhite meat tunaâ€ and is an extremely popular commercial fish. It is important to consider the fact that by getting tuna out of a can there will be significantly fewer nutritional benefits than if you were to eat it fresh.