Is oatmeal gluten free? Pure oatmeal is now available!

Is oatmeal gluten free?

This is a legitimate question for many as it touches the critical part of one’s health especially if you are allergic to gluten. Gluten is a protein present in most of the cereals. This protein is poorly accommodated and digested by individuals suffering from celiac disease as they cause allergic reactions. Oats are naturally pure with no gluten contents. In most cases, oats are grown next to wheat and rye which are gluten filled; they are processed and transported using the same facilities leading to cross contamination. Good news is the pure rolled oats do not contain gluten at all and therefore one need to be careful when purchasing oatmeal.

pure oatmeal contains no gluten

pure oatmeal contains no gluten

The good news is that it is possible to get a pack of gluten free oatmeal in the market. It is easy to tell as this is clearly indicated on the packaging. These are the brands whose processing has been done in gluten free environment. This offers an opportunity for you to have a pure brand if you are gluten sensitive.

In addition, when baking, you can replace the regular oats which contain gluten with the special gluten free ones. These special ones are normally prepared in a pure environment having no contact with gluten. They have the same taste and texture with the regular ones and so you will be able to enjoy your cookies the same while remaining safe.

There are different brands of oatmeal that are certified as gluten free. The steel cut oats and quick cooking oats processed by Bob’s red mill have been tested and found to be pure. These are safe and available to you in the market. Also, you can check for the organic gluten free rolled oats serves the purpose without causing allergic reactions in your body.

It is important to note that many of the companies that are committed in producing pure oatmeal also deal with the regular ones thus caution must be taken when buying. Read the labels well and insist for the pure brand. For those with celiac disease there is need to test first by preparing a small potion first to check whether you can tolerate it due to the presence of avenalin in the oats that might cause the same effects as gluten.

Oatmeal is important in your body because it increases immunity and stabilizes blood sugar level. Go for the pure oatmeal for good health.

Spread the love

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *